Election Results

Our second community election process to choose two at-large Directors for the board of the Drupal Association concluded with the successful election of Morten Birch Heide-Jørgensen (mortendk) of Denmark and Pedro Cambra (pcambra) of Spain. The result was ratified today by the Drupal Association board. Morten and Pedro's terms begin on 1st November 2012. Steve Purkiss and Donna Benjamin will continue to sit on the board until our terms expire in February 2013.

Vote Drupal 2013

Voting is Open!

Voting is open until 23:59UTC 7 Oct 2012 at https://association.drupal.org/vote2013

Who can vote?

You are eligible to vote if you have an account on drupal.org, logged in during the past 12 months, and created your account before 31 August 2012 when the election was announced.

Update Election 2013

Nominations have now closed. See the Candidates!

This update contains important details about "Meet the candidate" sessions, who can vote and how to vote. I would like to extend a huge thank you to all the candidates for putting themselves forward. Their names, with links to their drupal.org profiles, and nominations are at the end of this post.

Election Announcement

Update: 20 Sep 2012 - Meet the Candidates sessions underway.
Schedule https://association.drupal.org/election2013-update
Logs & Recordings Session 1 - Session 2 - Session 3 - Session 4

Update: 19 Sep 2012 - Candidates Announced!
Update: 17 Sep 2012 - Nominations are now closed.

It's Time!

The Drupal Association board is calling for nominations for elections for "At Large" Directors for 2013.

In February the Drupal Association conducted our first ever broad based elections.

The nominating committee is starting the search to fill our other vacant board positions, but it's up to members of the community to select Directors to represent the community at large on the board.

First-ever community-elected Board Members announced by the Drupal Association

The first-ever election for two at-large Board Members of the Drupal Association was just completed with the selection of Donna Benjamin (KatteKrab) of Australia and Steve Purkiss (stevepurkiss) of the United Kingdom. The two new board members were elected by members of the Drupal Community and then ratified today by the Drupal Association board. They join the current eight Board of Directors of the non-profit Drupal Association in helping to establish policy, hire and manage an executive director, review and approve the budget and financial reports, and participate in fundraising.

Drupal Association Elections: Ideas and Candidates Needed!

The Drupal Association is about to hold its first open elections of "at-large" (community-elected) board members--and your help is needed. Since these are community positions, we felt that it was important to get community buy-in to the process used. We need YOUR input on these suggestions to help come up with a fair and equitable voting process.

We're looking both for candidates and for input into the election process. Read on to find out how you can get involved.


This discussion is meant to create a process for electing the two at-large members of the US-based 501c3 Drupal Association Board.

Drupal Association 2010 Election Results

The Drupal Association General Assembly met on March 2 to elect new Permanent Members and select a Board of Directors. The Assembly elected six new Permanent Members from the thirteen valid applications that were received:

Following the election of the new Permanent Members, the entire General Assembly (including the newly-elected permanent members) met to select the Association’s Board of Directors. The Assembly voted for each board applicant. The position of President (held by Dries Buytaert) and Treasurer (held by Jacob Redding), were not up for election this term per the Association's statutes.

The following existing board members ran for a position on the board: Angela Byron (webchick), Tiffany Farriss (farriss), Larry Garfield (Crell), Cary Gordon (highermath), Gerhard Killesreiter (killes), and Kieran Lal (Amazon). Permanent member Laura Scott (laura s) also ran for a board position focusing on membership. All were elected.

The Drupal Association thanks everyone who ran for election this year. Look forward to hearing more about the Association’s ongoing initiatives in the coming weeks, and how all members of the community (not just those in the Association's General Assembly) can play a part in helping Drupal flourish!

Why and how to apply to be a permanent member or board member

February 10 is the deadline to apply to be a permanent member or board member of the Drupal Association.

Compared to last year, there are relatively few applications and even fewer for board positions. Bringing in energetic and visionary new members is an important part of the Association continuing to build strength and capacity.

If you're considering applying, now's the time!

Here are some pointers on why you might apply, how to do so, and what to expect.

Subscribe with RSS Subscribe to RSS - elections